Viktor and Klára

"Viktor et Klára" in Wikipedia

The Viktor Geiger's book is mentioned in the bibliography of a Wikipedia page devoted to "Forced labor of Hungarians in the Soviet Union".
This page has been translated in French, Hungarian, and others languages.


"Sous un ciel étranger" exhibition

Viktor's book was present in the exhibition "Sous un ciel étranger ..." dedicated to Forced labor of Hungarians in the Soviet Union, in the Hungarian Cultural Center in Paris (92 Rue Bonaparte), from 9th September to 13th October 2016.

Thank you to Mr János Havasi, the director of the cultural center, for exposing this book and allow us to publish the photos below.










The book "Viktor et Klára"

Viktor et Klára

About the story

Transylvania, September 1944. The German army withdraws. The Soviet army arrives and deports Viktor, Klára and thousands of others from the region to participate in the rebuilding of the USSR as it is in ruins.

Viktor is married with two children, Klára is married but has no children. They don’t know it yet but their fates are linked. A rare and poignant testimony which is personal as well as historical. An extraordinary insight into Communism in Stalin’s time. The author describes the everyday life of a Soviet labour camp in detail using black humour but never giving in to hatred.

During these years of suffering, 1945 and 1946 in the Donbass, Ukraine, they are likely to succumb to disease, hunger, cold and despair.

Viktor survives the misery thanks to the support and friendship of his companions and his love for Klára.

This story, translated from Hungarian into French by his granddaughter, was written by Viktor after his return in 1947 from his memoires written in secret during his deportation.

About the author.

Viktor Geiger was born in 1902 in Transylvania into a wealthy Hungarian Catholic family. He had two daughters. He had various jobs including accountant, notary clerk and manager of a business.

Viktor always lived in Transylvania, where he died in 1983.


The context of the story

Little is known or recorded about the lives of ordinary Eastern Europeans at end of WW2. The German army with its allies invaded the Soviet Union doing a lot of damage but failing to take the big cities. The withdrawal began in 1944. The Red Army drove the invaders back but in retreat the German soldiers destroyed many things including the transport infrastructure. The Soviet army was in disarray. In the Ukraine (annexed by the USSR in 1922) all inhabitants who remained there during the time of the German occupation were considered German supporters and, therefore, traitors.

Tens of thousands of Ukrainians enlisted in the German army to fight the Russians.

All of these were sentenced to two years hard labour and the Ukraine became a huge prison. The Ukrainian prisoners were separated from the rest and watched more closely. They were treated more harshly than German prisoners. Typhus was transmitted by lice and caused many deaths. The access to many coal mines in the Donbass which had been destroyed by the Germans during their withdrawal, had to be reopened to provide energy to rebuild the country. The free Ukrainian workforce was not sufficient. The Red Army searched the liberated countries of Hungary, Romania, Czechoslovakia and Poland for more manpower. Tens of thousands of people were sent to the Ukrainian labour camps in 1945. They were often taken because their names sounded German.

This was the case for Viktor Geiger. He was there for two years and his story describes firstly life in a labour camp in Krasnyi Luch, a coal mining region 100 km east of Donetsk. This true story gives us the opportunity to discover the Communist regime under Stalin.

After a year he was moved to a huge foundry at Druzhkivka, 80km north of Donetsk. Here the full horror of the labour camps is revealed first hand. Escapes, punishment, fatal accidents, weddings, funerals, alcoholism, fights, hunger and madness are all present in this emotional account.

At the end of 1946 some prisoners, the weak, the ill and some pregnant women, were repatriated by train from Kramatorsk, 30 km north of Druzhkivka. At this time Viktor became a translator in the hope he would not return to the camps.

Viktor and Klara returned to Transylvania in early 1947.


How to buy this book

This book is available only in French.

Available to order in any bookshop.

Edition: L'Harmattan

Author: Viktor Geiger

Title: Viktor et Klara

You can also order it from the publisher's website,  L'Harmattan. 

Or order it from the usual online websites,,,,     FNAC,  etc ...


Collection "Mémoires du XXe siècle" (Memories of the twentieth century)

For those interested in historical accounts of the twentieth century, the publisher L'Harmattan offers a hundred books in this  collection "Memories of the twentieth century"  and some works relating to the  nineteenth century.  



HTML 5 Valide CSS 3 Valide

Viktor et Klára

Wikipédia mentionne "Viktor et Klára"

Le témoignage de Viktor est mentionné dans la bibliographie de la page Wikipédia consacrée au "Travail forcé des Hongrois en Union soviétique".  
Cette page existe dans diverses langues, dont le Hongrois.

 

Exposition "Sous un ciel étranger"

Le témoignage de Viktor était présent à l'exposition "Sous un ciel étranger ..." au Centre Culturel Hongrois de Paris (92 Rue Bonaparte), du 9 septembre au 13 octobre 2016.

Un grand merci au directeur de ce centre culturel, M. János Havasi, pour avoir exposé "Viktor et Klára" et nous avoir autorisé à présenter les images ci-dessous.

expo

expo

expo

expo

expo

expo

expo

expo

 

Le livre "Viktor et Klára"

Viktor et Klára

à propos de l'histoire

Transylvanie, septembre 1944. L'armée allemande se retire. L'armée soviétique arrive et embarque Viktor, Klára, ainsi que des milliers d'autres habitants de la région, afin de participer à la reconstruction de l'URSS en ruine.

Viktor est marié, il a deux enfants. Klára est mariée, sans enfant. Ils ne se connaissent pas encore, pourtant leurs destins sont liés… Témoignage rare et émouvant, personnel aussi bien qu'historique, il est accablant pour le communisme au temps de Staline. L'auteur y décrit, de manière détaillée, le quotidien dans un camp de travail soviétique, avec une pointe d'humour noir, sans jamais céder à la haine.

Au cours de ces deux années de souffrances, 1945 et 1946, en Ukraine, dans le Donbass, ils sont très nombreux à succomber aux maladies, à la faim, au froid, au désespoir.

Viktor survit, grâce à l'entraide, à l'amitié de ses compagnons de misère et à l'amour de Klára.

Ce récit, traduit du hongrois en français par sa petite-fille, fut rédigé par Viktor après son retour en 1947, à partir de souvenirs écrits à la dérobée sur des morceaux de papier, pendant sa déportation.

Présentation de l'auteur

Viktor Geiger est né en 1902, en Transylvanie, dans une famille catholique hongroise aisée. Père de deux filles, il a exercé divers métiers, dont ceux de comptable, clerc de notaire et directeur d'entreprise.

Viktor a toujours vécu en Transylvanie, où il est décédé en 1983.

 

Contexte du témoignage

La fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale dans l'est de l'Europe est peu connue, en dehors des spécialistes, des historiens. L'armée allemande envahit l'URSS avec ses alliés, fait beaucoup de dégâts, mais ne parvient pas à prendre les grandes villes. Le retrait commence en 1944. L'Armée rouge repousse les envahisseurs. Avant de quitter les lieux, les soldats allemands détruisent tout, gare, voies ferrées, ponts ... L'armée soviétique trouve un champ de ruines. En Ukraine, annexée par l'URSS en 1922, tous les habitants restés chez eux au moment de l'invasion allemande sont considérés comme des traitres, sympathisants des Allemands.

Les Ukrainiens sont des dizaines de milliers à s'être enrôlés dans l'armée allemande pour combattre les Russes.

Tous ces gens sont condamnés à 2 ans de travaux forcés. L'Ukraine devient une immense prison. Les prisonniers ukrainiens sont séparés des autres et particulièrement surveillés, encore plus maltraités que les prisonniers allemands. Le typhus, transmis par les poux, fait de nombreuses victimes. Les mines de charbon du Donbass, dont les entrées ont été détruites par les Allemands lors de leur retrait, doivent fournir l'énergie nécessaire à la reconstruction du pays. Cette main-d'oeuvre ukrainienne gratuite n'est pas suffisante. L'Armée rouge va donc se servir dans les pays libérés, Roumanie, Hongrie, Tchécoslovaquie, Pologne ... Des dizaines de milliers de personnes seront envoyés en Ukraine, en camp de travail, au cours de l'année 1945. Souvent ces personnes sont choisies en fonction de leur nom à consonance allemande.

C'est le cas de Viktor Geiger. Il va passer deux années complètes en camp de travail. Son témoignage permet de découvrir la vie quotidienne dans un camp de travail à Krasnyi Luch, Красний Луч, dans le Donbass, en Ukraine. C'est une région de mines de charbon, à 100 km de Donetsk, Донецьк, vers l'est. C'est l'occasion de mieux découvrir le monde communiste au temps de Staline.

Un an plus tard, le récit nous transporte à Druzhkivka, Дружківка, à 80 km au nord de Donetsk, dans une énorme usine métallurgique. Évasions, punitions, exécutions, accidents mortels, mariage à la russe, enterrements, le récit donne des détails sur tous ces événements. L'alcoolisme, les vols, la faim, la folie, tout cela est raconté avec émotion.

Fin 1946 certains déportés, les plus faibles, malades, les femmes enceintes, sont rapatriés chez eux, en train, au départ de Kramatorsk, Краматорськ, à 30 km au nord de Druzhkivka. Viktor les accompagne en tant que traducteur. Il en profite pour ... ne pas retourner au camp.

Viktor et Klára sont de retour chez eux, en Transylvanie, début 1947.

 

Où acheter ce livre ?

Sur commande dans toute librairie.



Edition L'Harmattan,
Auteur : Viktor Geiger,
Titre : Viktor et Klára

Vous pouvez le  commander également sur le site de l'éditeur, l'Harmattan. 


Vous pouvez le trouver aussi sur les sites habituels de commande en ligne,  Amazon.fr,     FNAC,  etc ...

 

 



HTML 5 Valide CSS 3 Valide